Main RSS Feed Forum RSS Feed


Next Fixture

No Upcoming Fixtures Available

Latest Poll

Caullie Lug 16/17

View Results

Log In

Forgot Password

View Article

Calcutta Cup Team

Hall Recall

Whilst the inclusion of former Gunner Nathan Hines on the bench for this match was entirely predictable, the recall of Gunners' hooker Dougie Hall is surely the biggest surprise. Hall wins only his third start in the eighth match in Frank Hadden's tenure as national coach, with Scott Lawson omitted from the 22.

This is one of three changes in the side from last time out. In the second row Scott MacLeod is promoted from the bench to replace the suspended Scott Murray. It will be MacLeod's second start for Scotland. Nathan Hines (Perpignan), who last played for Scotland in the Calcutta Cup last year and who is now available again for Scotland selection, is introduced among the replacements.

Meanwhile in the backs, centre Marcus Di Rollo has recovered from the hamstring injury that kept him out of the game at the Millennium Stadium and he replaces Ben MacDougall.

Hadden said: "Once again we have reflected long and hard over our choice at hooker. Ross Ford definitely announced himself on the stage last week and his is a star on the rise. Again we have gone for horses for courses at hooker with Dougie coming back.

"In the second-row I have said all along that I was pleased with the competition. I did not consider bringing Nathan Hines straight into the starting line-up. Our team just now is a hard one to force your way into. There is no doubt, however, that Nathan can play a big role for us.

"Marcus has been running well in training and it is good to have him back," he added.

Scotland team (sponsor The Famous Grouse) to play England in the RBS 6 Nations Championship on Saturday 25 February at Murrayfield (kick-off 5.30pm)

15 Hugo Southwell (Edinburgh Gunners)
14 Chris Paterson (Edinburgh Gunners)
13 Marcus Di Rollo (Edinburgh Gunners)
12 Andrew Henderson (Glasgow Warriors)
11 Sean Lamont (Northampton Saints)
10 Dan Parks (Glasgow Warriors)
9 Mike Blair (Edinburgh Gunners)*

1 Gavin Kerr (Leeds Tykes)
2 Dougie Hall (Edinburgh Gunners)
3 Bruce Douglas (Border Reivers)
4 Scott MacLeod (Border Reivers)
5 Alastair Kellock (Edinburgh Gunners)*
6 Jason White (Sale Sharks) CAPTAIN
8 Simon Taylor (Edinburgh Gunners)
7 Allister Hogg (Edinburgh Gunners)*

16 Ross Ford (Border Reivers)*
17 Craig Smith (Edinburgh Gunners)
18 Nathan Hines (Perpignan)
19 Jon Petrie (Glasgow Warriors)
20 Chris Cusiter (Border Reivers)*
21 Gordon Ross (Leeds Tykes)
22 Simon Webster (Edinburgh Gunners)

* = Member of Scottish Institute of Sport

Referee: Alan Lewis (Ireland). Touch-judges: Stuart Dickinson (Australia) and Carlo Damasco (Italy). TMO: Cristophe Berdos (France)