Main RSS Feed Forum RSS Feed


Next Fixture

No Upcoming Fixtures Available

Latest Poll

Caullie Lug 16/17

View Results

Log In

Forgot Password

View Article

Edinburgh v Llanelli Scarlets

Edinburgh team for Llanelli Scarlets

Head coach Lynn Howells has made five changes to the side which played Glasgow Warriors for the Magners League match against Llanelli Scarlets at Murrayfield tomorrow night. 

Matt Dey makes his first start of the season coming in for Andrew Easson at inside centre. Alasdair Dickinson and Matt Mustchin return to starting line-up swapping places with Geoff Cross and Chris Bentley who move to the bench. In the back row, Simon Taylor and Alan MacDonald replace Alasdair Strokosch and Ross Rennie respectively. Also taking their place on the bench are apprentice player Steven Lawrie and Lucio Lopez Fleming.  

Lynn Howells said: "Matt Dey comes in for Andrew Easson who is injured. He has had game time against Glasgow and Gloucester and is ready for a start this week. He is an experienced league campaigner and so it's a positive sign, as it's another player who adds to the strength of the squad. 

"Simon Taylor is being given a chance to prove he is now back to full match fitness and we have an opportunity to rest Alasdair Strokosch as he has started every game this season. 

"Within the next couple of weeks we're looking forward to getting back to full strength. We are fully aware the squad has not enough strength in depth at the moment and when we lose one or two key personnel, then we struggle. 

"We're looking forward to getting back to rugby matters on the field after the festive season and everyone on the coaching staff at Edinburgh is looking forward to a successful 2007. This is not the is the end of the beginning." 

Unavailable for selection: Rob Dewey (knee), Dave Duley (ribs), Andrew Easson (heel), Allister Hogg (knee), Greig Laidlaw (knee), Ross Rennie (collar-bone), Craig Smith (neck), Simon Webster (lower leg & ankle). 

Edinburgh team to play Llanelli Scarlets in the Magners League at Murrayfield on Friday 5 January, kick off 7.30pm 

15         Hugo Southwell
14         Chris Paterson (captain)
13         Marcus Di Rollo
12         Matt Dey
11         Ben Cairns *
10         Phil Godman
9           Mike Blair *
1          Allan Jacobsen
2          Dougie Hall
3          Alasdair Dickinson *
4          Matt Mustchin
5          Scott Murray
6          Simon Taylor
7          Alan MacDonald *
8          Dave Callam * 


16         Steven Lawrie
17         Geoff Cross *
18         Chris Bentley
19         Alasdair Strokosch *
20         John Senio
21         Duncan Hodge
22         Lucio Lopez Fleming 

* Member of the Scottish Institute of Sport