Main RSS Feed Forum RSS Feed


Next Fixture

No Upcoming Fixtures Available

Latest Poll

Caullie Lug 16/17

View Results

Log In

Forgot Password

View Article

Howells makes changes for Munster challenge

Head coach Lynn Howells has made four changes to the side which beat Glasgow for tomorrow's Magners League match against Munster at Thomond Park. Hugo Southwell returns at full-back after coming off the bench to score the only try in Edinburgh's last match. David Callam comes in for Allister Hogg who was injured in the victory over Glasgow.  

Elsewhere, Alan MacDonald will play his first league match this season after being selected at openside flanker and Matt Mustchin is restored to the second row. Simon Cross could also make his first appearance for Edinburgh since April, after recovering from a thumb fracture to start on the bench. Craig Smith has also been named among the replacements after his recent calf injury. 

Lynn Howells said: "We've made the changes because of the calibre of the side we're playing, and those players coming in give strength in certain areas that we'll need against Munster. Dave Callam has played a lot of league rugby and has proved himself at this level, so he now has an opportunity while Allister Hogg is injured.  

"We've decided to rest Ross Rennie as he's played five Magners League games in a row and he's only a young player. That gives us an opportunity to see Alan MacDonald who, again, has proved he has the capabilities to play at this level. If we are to progress throughout the season, we need as many players having game time as we can manage, without weakening the team. 

"As far as Edinburgh is concerned, this is probably the best game we could have before we go into the Heineken Cup, playing the current European champions. It gives the squad an opportunity to play at the highest level before we face Agen next week." 

Unavailable due to injury: Matt Dey (calf), Allister Hogg (elbow), Simon Taylor (knee). 

Edinburgh team to play Munster at Thomond Park, Friday 29 September, kick-off 7.30pm 

15 Hugo Southwell 

14 Chris Paterson (captain) 
13 Marcus Di Rollo  
12 Rob Dewey 
11 Simon Webster 

10 Phil Godman 
  9 Mike Blair * 

1 Allan Jacobsen 
2 Dougie Hall 
3 Alasdair Dickinson * 
4 Matt Mustchin 
5 Scott Murray 
6 Alasdair Strokosch
8 David Callam
7 Alan MacDonald * 


16 Andrew Kelly * 
17 Craig Smith 
18 Dave Hewett 
19 Fergus Pringle 
20 Greig Laidlaw 
21 Simon Cross 
22 Duncan Hodge 

*   Member of the Scottish Institute of Sport 

The Munster team is:

Munster: Shaun Payne; Toma O'Leary, Barry Murphy, Trevor Halstead, Ian Dowling; Ronan O'Gara, Peter Stringer; Marcus Horan, Frank Sheahan, Federico Pucciariello; Donncha O'Callaghan, Paul O'Connell (capt); Denis Leamy, David Wallace, Anthony Foley.

Referee: Phil Fear (WRU).

Touch Judges: C Stanley (IRFU), K Henley-Willis (IRFU)