Main RSS Feed Forum RSS Feed


Next Fixture

No Upcoming Fixtures Available

Latest Poll

Caullie Lug 16/17

View Results

Log In

Forgot Password

View Article

Murray and Hines restored to Scotland XV

Gunner Scott Murray and former Gunner Nathan Hines are restored to the Scotland second-row for their RBS 6 Nations Championship clash with Ireland at Lansdowne Road, Dublin, Dublin on Saturday.  Murray returns following his suspension, whilst Hines has rejoined the Scotland squad following his self-imposed exile.

The experienced duo replace Gunner Alastair Kellock (who gets a place on the bench) and Reiver Scott MacLeod as the only changes to the starting line-up from Scotland's Calcutta Cup victory last month. 

Meanwhile on the bench Scott Lawson replaces Ross Ford, the Borders Reivers hooker.  Ford sustained medial ligament damage in Reivers' Celtic League win over Glasgow Warriors at the weekend and will be sidelined for at least six weeks. The Scotland management wish Ford a speedy recovery. 

Scotland coach Frank Hadden said: "The reason for the second-row selection is experience. When you are away from home there is absolutely no substitute for experience. 

"We are playing against a team that we have not beaten at Lansdowne Road for eight years.  They have four professional sides with a remarkable track record in Europe. 

"Their junior rugby has an intensity that's totally different from ours which has resulted in Ireland winning the under-19 World Cup and us securing only one victory against them at under-21 level. 

"Despite that, we believe we have a very good chance of winning this weekend.  What's important to me is that the many thousands of Scots' fans travelling to Dublin do so not just in hope but with a genuine expectation of us doing something special again." 

Scotland team (sponsor The Famous Grouse) to play Ireland on Saturday 11 March in the RBS 6 Nations Championship at Lansdowne Road, Dublin, Dublin (kick-off 3.30pm

15 Hugo Southwell (Edinburgh Gunners) 
14 Chris Paterson (Edinburgh Gunners) 
13 Marcus Di Rollo (Edinburgh Gunners) 
12 Andrew Henderson (Glasgow Warriors) 
11 Sean Lamont (Northampton Saints) 
10 Dan Parks (Glasgow Warriors) 
9 Mike Blair (Edinburgh Gunners)* 

1 Gavin Kerr (Leeds Tykes) 
2 Dougie Hall (Edinburgh Gunners)* 
3 Bruce Douglas (Border Reivers) 
4 Nathan Hines (Perpignan) 
5 Scott Murray (Edinburgh Gunners) 
6 Jason White (Sale Sharks) CAPTAIN 
8 Simon Taylor (Edinburgh Gunners) 
7 Allister Hogg (Edinburgh Gunners)* 

16 Scott Lawson (Glasgow Warriors)* 
17 Craig Smith (Edinburgh Gunners) 
18 Alastair Kellock (Edinburgh Gunners)* 
19 Jon Petrie (Glasgow Warriors) 
20 Chris Cusiter (Border Reivers)* 
21 Gordon Ross (Leeds Tykes) 
22 Simon Webster (Edinburgh Gunners) 

* = Member of Scottish Institute of Sport 

Referee: Stuart Dickinson (Australia). Touch-judges: Tony Spreadbury (England) and Nigel Whitehouse (Wales).  TMO - Huw Watkins (Wales)