Main RSS Feed Forum RSS Feed


Next Fixture

No Upcoming Fixtures Available

Latest Poll

Caullie Lug 16/17

View Results

Log In

Forgot Password

View Article

Scotland Team Built Around Gunners

11 Gunners in Frank's First 22

Scotland head coach Frank Hadden today named 11 Gunners players in his 22 to face Argentina in the Bank of Scotland Corporate Autumn Test on Saturday.

The starting fifteen includes seven Gunners players, with another four on the bench.

The selection is also notable for the three players making their Murrayfield debuts as full internationalists. Gunners players Marcus Di Rollo and Dougie Hall and Warriors' lock Craig Hamilton's previous caps for Scotland have all been won on foreign soil.

Competition was intense for Hall, with Glasgow's Scott Lawson and Borders Ross Ford both in fine form, and the same scenario applied at scrum-half where Gunners' Mike Blair has won the nod ahead of British Lion Chris Cusiter.

Hadden said: "Argentina will represent a formidable challenge for us on Saturday. They are above us in the IRB world rankings and Scotland have not beaten The Pumas for 15 years.

"But I believe we approach this game in good heart and the fact that our three pro-teams amassed between them another 10 point haul in the Celtic League at the weekend means we can go into the contest with confidence and I'd encourage as many supporters as possible to come to Murrayfield on Saturday to cheer us on."

There could of course be a twelfth Gunner on the field if, as expected, Francisco Leonelli is picked for Argentina. Although the Pumas lost to South Africa on Saturday, Francisco scored a fine first-half try in a strong display by the Argentine team.

Scotland Team
(sponsor The Famous Grouse)
v. Argentina
Bank of Scotland Corporate Autumn Test Murrayfield
Saturday 12 November
(kick-off 5.30pm)

15 Chris Paterson (Edinburgh Gunners)
14 Rory Lamont (Glasgow Warriors)
13 Marcus Di Rollo (Edinburgh Gunners)
12 Andy Henderson (Glasgow Warriors)
11 Sean Lamont (Northampton Saints)
10 Dan Parks (Glasgow Warriors)
9 Mike Blair (Edinburgh Gunners)*
1 Gavin Kerr (Leeds Tykes)
2 Dougie Hall (Edinburgh Gunners)
3 Bruce Douglas (Border Reivers)
4 Craig Hamilton (Glasgow Warriors)
5 Scott Murray (Edinburgh Gunners)
6 Jason White (Sale Sharks) CAPTAIN
8 Simon Taylor (Edinburgh Gunners)
7 Allister Hogg (Edinburgh Gunners)*

16 Scott Lawson (Glasgow Warriors)*
17 Craig Smith (Edinburgh Gunners)
18 Allan Jacobsen (Edinburgh Gunners)
19 Alastair Kellock (Edinburgh Gunners)*
20 Kelly Brown (Border Reivers)*
21 Chris Cusiter (Border Reivers)*
22 Hugo Southwell (Edinburgh Gunners)
*= Member of Scottish Institute of Sport