Main RSS Feed Forum RSS Feed


Next Fixture

No Upcoming Fixtures Available

Latest Poll

Caullie Lug 16/17

View Results

Log In

Forgot Password

View Article


Scotland team (sponsor The Famous Grouse) to play the Barbarians at Pittodrie Stadium, Aberdeen on Tuesday 24 May (kick-off 7.30pm)

15 Chris Paterson (Edinburgh Rugby)
14 Rory Lamont (Glasgow Rugby)
13 Marcus Di Rollo (Edinburgh Rugby)
12 Andrew Henderson (Glasgow Rugby)
11 Sean Lamont (Glasgow Rugby)
10 Gordon Ross (Leeds Tykes)
9 Mike Blair (Edinburgh Rugby)*

1 Allan Jacobsen (Edinburgh Rugby)
2 Scott Lawson (Glasgow Rugby)
3 Bruce Douglas (The Borders)
4 Stuart Grimes (Newcastle Falcons)
5 Scott Murray (Edinburgh Rugby)
6 Kelly Brown (The Borders)*
8 Jon Petrie (Glasgow Rugby) CAPTAIN
7 Allister Hogg (Edinburgh Rugby)*

16 Dougie Hall (Edinburgh Rugby)
17 Euan Murray (Glasgow Rugby)*
18 Craig Hamilton (Newcastle Falcons)
19 Andrew Wilson (Glasgow Rugby)*
20 Graeme Beveridge (Glasgow Rugby)
21 Dan Parks (Glasgow Rugby)
22 Hugo Southwell (Edinburgh Rugby)

* = Member of Scottish Institute of Sport

Also with the squad 23 Simon Cross (Edinburgh Rugby) 24 Stuart Moffat (The Borders)

Unavailable from the original squad through injury: Jason White (Sale Sharks), Ben Hinshelwood (Worcester Warriors), Andy Craig (Glasgow Rugby) and Simon Webster (Edinburgh Rugby)

Scotland have listed two uncapped players in their starting XV for their match against the Barbarians in Aberdeen on 24 May.

They are Scott Lawson, the 23-year-old Glasgow Rugby hooker, and Kelly Brown the 22-year-old back-row forward from The Borders.

Two other uncapped players are on the bench - the Glasgow Rugby duo Euan Murray and Andrew Wilson.

Caps aren't being awarded in this contest but interim head coach Frank Hadden is keen that Scotland put on a performance to enthuse supporters.

On the listing of the uncapped forwards he said: "Scott Lawson has quite clearly pushed Gordon Bulloch very hard for selection for Glasgow this season and he deserves this opportunity. I expect Dougie Hall will also be putting Scott under pressure.

"With Kelly it's a similar scenario. He has really come on this season playing for The Borders and he also merits selection."

Both Lawson and Brown are products of the Scotland age-group structure and Lawson is a former winner of the David McGavin memorial award as Scotland's under-21 player of the year. Last weekend Lawson also won the supporters' vote as the Maclay Murray Spens Glasgow Rugby player of the year.

Brown has already worn national colours three times this year . . . in the abbreviated game as a member of the Scotland sevens squad at the IRB tournaments in Wellington and Los Angeles and the Rugby World Cup Sevens in Hong Kong.

The match is at Pittodrie Stadium, Aberdeen on Tuesday 24 May (kick-off 7.30pm). Tickets are available by calling the credit card hotline number 0870 040 1925.