Main RSS Feed Forum RSS Feed


Next Fixture

No Upcoming Fixtures Available

Latest Poll

Caullie Lug 16/17

View Results

Log In

Forgot Password

View Article

Team to Play Leinster

Sunday 6th November, 3pm, Donnybrook

Edinburgh Gunners' interim head coach Todd Blackadder has made eight changes, including one positional, to the side that narrowly lost 15-13 to Llanelli Scarlets at Stradey Park in the Heineken Cup last weekend.

Five Gunners make their first starting appearances for Edinburgh this week as Canadian international Michael Pyke comes onto the wing in place of Chris Paterson, Matt Dey wins promotion from the bench at inside centre, scrum-half Jamie Blackwood replaces the injured Rory Lawson, Andrew Kelly takes over from Dougie Hall at hooker and Dave Callam joins the back row at No 8 for Simon Taylor.

In addition, Peter Jorgensen switches from inside to outside centre in place of Marcus Di Rollo, Fergus Pringle comes in for Scott Murray at lock and Simon Cross returns to the line-up on the openside of the scrum.

Apprentices Ross Rennie, Nick De Luca and Steve Lawrie all join the bench this week for the first time this season, as does full-time professional Ander Monro who is covering scrum-half.

Blackadder is excited by the changes to his team. He said: "I'm excited by it - these are the players we have available and it's a strong side. Looking at the team, there are no weaknesses and we have several Scottish and an Australian, Canadian and All-Black international named in the squad.

"On top of that we have young guys coming up and it's a big opportunity for them. They'll take that challenge on and it's exciting for them. Alastair Kellock will captain the team and he has earned that honour.

"It's really important for us to get back on track after the loss last weekend. Every game is important but this one especially for our Celtic League campaign - we need to take points from Donnybrook on Sunday," he concluded.

The team is:

15 Hugo Southwell
14 Michael Pyke
13 Peter Jorgensen
12 Matt Dey
11 Simon Webster
10 Phil Godman
9 Jamie Blackwood *

1 Allan Jacobsen
2 Andrew Kelly *
3 Craig Smith
4 Alastair Kellock * CAPTAIN
5 Fergus Pringle
6 Matt Mustchin
8 Dave Callam *
7 Simon Cross

16 Steve Lawrie
17 Dave Hewett
18 Alasdair Strokosch *
19 Ross Rennie
20 Ander Monro
21 Duncan Hodge
22 Nick De Luca *

* indicates member of the Scottish Institute of Sport