Main RSS Feed Forum RSS Feed


Next Fixture

No Upcoming Fixtures Available

Latest Poll

Caullie Lug 16/17

View Results

Log In

Forgot Password

View Article

Edinburgh v Borders Team News

Scotland stars return to league action

Eleven internationals who played in last week's test against Australia have been named in Edinburgh's team for the Magners League match against Border Reivers at Murrayfield tomorrow. 

John Senio, who signed with Edinburgh this week, has been named on the bench, along with the club's other recent signings, Chris Bentley and Lucio Lopez Fleming. Apprentice Andrew Easson starts at centre, having been withdrawn from the Scotland Sevens team for the IRB World Series tournament in Dubai. 

Assistant coach Rob Moffat said: "It was quite a positive time for some of the players while they were away on international duty, with three of them winning their first caps and Phil Godman making his first Scotland start. The others played a lot of rugby, especially Scott Murray and Dougie Hall, fronting up each week so we can take positives from the three-test series. 

"Andrew Easson is being given another start after performing well in his debut against the Dragons. Our three new players may also have their first chance to play at Murrayfield tomorrow night. We think they are good additions to the squad and we want to involve them as soon as possible. 

"The Borders had a close match with Llanelli Scarlets in their last game at home and could quite easily have won. They have been competitive most weeks of late and have already beaten Leinster this season. We are also very mindful that they beat Edinburgh last season.  

"Tomorrow is very important for us having narrowly lost our last two games and although we came away with a bonus point against the Dragons, we could have won the match." 

Unavailable for selection: Rob Dewey (knee), Matt Dey (leg), Dave Duley (ribs), Allister Hogg (knee), Craig Smith (neck), Simon Webster (lower leg & ankle). 

Edinburgh team to play Border Reivers in the tenth round of the Magners League at Murrayfield, Friday 1 December, kick off 7.30pm

15         Hugo Southwell 

14         Chris Paterson (captain) 
13         Marcus Di Rollo 
12         Andrew Easson 
11         Ben Cairns 

10         Phil Godman 
9          Mike Blair 

1          Allan Jacobsen 
2          Dougie Hall 
3          Alasdair Dickinson 
4          Matt Mustchin 
5          Scott Murray 
6          Alasdair Strokosch 
7          Simon Taylor 
8          Dave Callam 


16         Steven Lawrie 
17         Dave Hewett 
18         Chris Bentley 
19         Ross Rennie 
20         John Senio 
21         Duncan Hodge 
22         Lucio Lopez Fleming