Main RSS Feed Forum RSS Feed


Next Fixture

No Upcoming Fixtures Available

Latest Poll

Caullie Lug 16/17

View Results

Log In

Forgot Password

View Article

Todd Wields the Axe

Nine changes as Gunners look to right wrongs

Edinburgh Gunners' head coach Todd Blackadder has made nine changes, including two positional, to the side that lost 24-17 to the Ospreys two weeks ago, ahead of the Celtic League clash against Cardiff Blues at Murrayfield tomorrow (Friday 7 April, kick-off 7.30pm). 

Blackadder said: "We performed poorly against the Ospreys but we've put it behind us and we'll right a few wrongs tomorrow night. It's up to us to do the talking on the pitch now." 

The changes see Gunners' captain Chris Paterson return on the right wing while Phil Godman moves from stand-off to outside centre for Marcus Di Rollo. Matt Dey, who has today re-signed for a further two years fills the inside centre berth in place of Peter Jorgensen as Duncan Hodge takes the play-maker role at No 10.  

In the front row, Dave Hewett returns for Allan Jacobsen with Andrew Kelly rotating in to the hooker slot for Dougie Hall. A complete change in the back row sees Allister Hogg switch from open to blind side flanker while Simon Taylor returns in place of Dave Callam and Alan MacDonald starts at No 7.  

Blackadder said: "Francisco Leonelli was unavailable due to a sore back but we've rotated a few players and given some others an opportunity. As far as I'm concerned it's an opportunity for the whole team - the last performance just wasn't us. 

 "Destiny is still in our hands. We're in fourth at the moment and there are six more games so we've got to go for it. I'm going to take the focus away from winning the league at the moment - the priority is to go out and play well," he added.      

Edinburgh Gunners team to play Cardiff Blues in the Celtic League at Murrayfield tomorrow (Friday 7 April), kick-off 7.30pm 

15 Hugo Southwell 
14 Chris Paterson CAPTAIN 
13 Phil Godman 
12 Matt Dey 
11 Simon Webster 
10 Duncan Hodge 
9 Mike Blair * 

1 Dave Hewett 
2 Andrew Kelly * 
3 Craig Smith 
4 Alastair Kellock * 
5 Scott Murray 
6 Allister Hogg * 
8 Simon Taylor 
7 Alan MacDonald 

16 Dougie Hall 
17 Alasdair Dickinson * 
18 Dave Duley 
19 Simon Cross 
20 Rory Lawson * 
21 Peter Jorgensen 
22 Marcus Di Rollo 

* indicates player in the Scottish Institute of Sport